The Manila Times



  About Us  

  Contact Us 

  Subscribe     Advertise  
  Archives     Feedback  



  Top Stories






  Life & Times



  Tech Times


Thursday, January 25, 2007


PBA to award perpetual trophy

STARTING this season, the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) will institutionalize the giving of the Perpetual trophy to the champion of the Philippine Cup.

Renowned national artist Ramon Orlina was commissioned by the league to design the special trophy made out of 18 karat gold and worth half a million pesos.

But getting the ultimate prize also comes with a price.

Only the team that wins the tournament, featuring an all-Filipino format, three successive times will be bestowed the prominent trophy.

Otherwise, only a replica of the award will be hand out to one-time or two-time winners.

“We’re institutionalizing the Perpetual trophy since the Philippine Cup has been long considered as the most prestigious tournament in the history of the PBA, being an all-Filipino conference,” said PBA commissioner Noli Eala.

“We want every PBA ballclub to experience the prestige and honor of winning the Philippine Cup.”

Eala took the occasion to extend the league’s gratitude to Orlina, who has consistently dazzled the art scene with his glass sculpture.

“We truly appreciate the time and effort being put up by Ramon Orlina in this special project considering the hectic schedule he had with his constant traveling abroad” Eala added.

An owner of a Bachelor of Science in Architecture diploma at the University of Santo Tomas, Orlina has been into arts for more than 30 years now. Among his famous masterpieces include “Arcanum XIX” Paradise Gained (1976), the public project for the Greenbelt Lagoon Chapel at the heart of Makati City (1983), Wings of Victory (1986), Fertile Crescent (1986) and Quintessence (1995), all commissioned for Singapore, Perfection (2006), Diamond Sky (2006), Love Offering (2006), Rising Amber (2006), Blue Sapphire (2006), Soaring (2006) and Infinity II (2006).

In 2000 he won first in the Sculpture Category in the II International Biennal of Basketball in the Fine Arts held in Alcobendas, Madrid, Spain, after which, sports have been part of Orlina’s sculptural concept.

Besides the PBA Perpetual trophy, Orlina is currently doing work on Tetraglobal, an outdoor monumental work commissioned by UST on its 400th anniversary celebration.

In the 32-year history of the PBA, no team has won an All-Filipino tournament three successive times.

Crispa and Great Taste were the only squads that came close to achieving the feat by winning back-to-back All-Filipino crowns. The legendary Redmanizers did it twice, 1979 and 1980 and 1983 and 1984, while the Coffemakers were the last two do the trick in 1984 and 1985.
The Redmanizers have the most number of All-Filipino titles won with five, followed by San Miguel and Great Taste with four each.

Purefoods was trying to make it two-in-a-row this season, but failed in its bid after being ousted by Talk ’N Text in the quarterfinals of the ongoing Philippine Cup.






Manila Times Friends

Try Yahoo Travel for Cheap Airline Tickets

Sponsored Links

Back To Top


Ping Oco, Franklin Bartolay
Powered by: 
The Manila Times Web Admin.


Home | About Us | Contact | Subscribe | Advertise | Feedback | Archives | Help

Copyright (c) 2001 The Manila Times | Terms of Service
The Manila Times Publishing Corp. All rights reserved.

Hosted by: